John Peyton Cooke

Author of Torsos,
The Chimney Sweeper,
Out for Blood, &c.











John Peyton Cooke is the author of seven novels and several tales. Torsos, a historical thriller about the Cleveland Torso Slayer of the 1930s, was a finalist for the Lambda Literary Award for Best Gay Men’s Mystery. His other novels include The Chimney Sweeper, The Rape of Ganymede, The Fall of Lucifer, Haven, Out for Blood, and The Lake.


His short story “After You’ve Gone” was selected for Best American Mystery Stories 2003. His tales have appeared in periodicals such as Christopher Street, The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, and Weird Tales, and in the anthologies The Valancourt Book of Horror Stories (Vol. 4), The Pulp Horror Book of Phobias (Vol. II), Stranger, Embracing the Dark, and Dark Love.


He was born in Texas and has lived in Wyoming, Wisconsin, New York City, Toronto, and London. He currently lives in Los Angeles with his husband and a whippet.





E-mail to

Copyright © 2022 by John Peyton Cooke. All rights reserved.

Last update: 1 May 2022